Accessibility links

Listen with Browsealoud
Language selection

Latest school categorisations in Bridgend County Borough

The latest round of school categorisation information issued by Welsh Government has revealed that 38 out of 48 primary schools and seven out of nine secondary schools have been categorised as receiving either ‘green’ or ‘yellow’ support in Bridgend County Borough.

All three special schools and the pupil referral unit have been categorised as ‘green’ or ‘yellow’.

The statistics, which use four colour codes to indicate how much support is required by schools across Wales, have revealed that out of the 48 primary schools, eight have been placed in the ‘amber’ category, and two are in the ‘red’ category. Two of the nine secondary schools are also in the ‘amber’ category, with none placed in ‘red’.

The categorisations are intended to acknowledge good practice and recognise where further work may be needed, and I’m pleased to see that Bridgend County Borough is continuing to display a trend of overall improvement.

I know that pupils, teachers, governors and staff at all of our schools are working hard to deliver the best possible education for learners in Bridgend County Borough, and I would like to thank them for their efforts and dedication.

We will now be considering the report in further detail as we look at how we and our partners in the Central South Consortium Joint Education Service can work with all local schools to offer help and support.

Councillor Charles Smith, Cabinet Member for Education and Regeneration.

Primary schools


Abercerdin Primary, Cwmfelin Primary, Garth Primary, Coychurch Llangrallo Primary, Newton Primary, Pen-Y-Bont Primary, Ysgol Cynwyd Sant, Llangewydd Juniors, Porthcawl Primary, Cefn Glas Infants, West Park Primary, Tondu Primary, Maes Yr Haul Primary, Pencoed Primary, Oldcastle Primary, Brackla Primary, Litchard Primary, Mynydd Cynffig Primary, St Mary`s and St Patrick`s Catholic Primary, St Robert's RC Primary, St Mary's RC Primary.


Betws Primary, Blaengarw Primary, Bryntirion Infants, Cefn Cribwr Primary,, Coety Primary, Ffaldau Primary, Nantymoel Primary, Nottage Primary, Pil Primary, Trelales Primary, Croesty Primary, Corneli Primary, Ysgol Gymraeg Bro Ogwr, Afon Y Felin Primary, Bryncethin Primary, Caerau Primary, Penyfai Church In Wales Primary.


Brynmenyn Primary, Llangynwyd Primary, Nantyffyllon Primary, Plasnewydd Primary, Ysgol Y Ferch O’r Sger, Ysgol Gynradd  Gymraeg Cwm Garw, Tremains Primary, Archdeacon John Lewis Church In Wales Primary


Tynyrheol Primary, Ogmore Vale Primary

Secondary schools


Bryntirion Comprehensive, Brynteg Comprehensive, Porthcawl Comprehensive, Archbishop McGrath Catholic High School


Pencoed Comprehensive, Ysgol Gyfun Gymraeg Llangynwyd, Coleg Cymunedol Y Dderwen


Cynffig Comprehensive, Maesteg Comprehensive

Special schools and pupil referral unit (PRU)


Heronsbridge Special School, Ysgol Bryn Castell


The Bridge Alternative Provision (PRU)

A to Z Search